Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2021

Anno 2021 we live in a strange, uncertain time, in which the Netherlands, Flanders, Wallonia and the rest of the Europe is plagued by the still present coronavirus. But one thing is certain as always, on the last Saturday of February the race is back home. With the Omloop het Nieuwsblad, the cycling season really kicks off!

In our overview of the classics 2021 we already referred to the many beautiful columns in the AD by Thijs Zonneveld, who in recent years invariably wrote a nice piece of cycling prose on paper on the eve of the Omloop. Deep into December there are only more days. As if you’re being punished for your own enthusiasm. There are few people who have ever written down the hunger for the Omloop so aptly.

When is the Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2021?

Saturday, February 27, 2021, the 76th edition of the Omloop het Nieuwsblad is scheduled and the cycling season will then really start. Of course, the UAE Tour 2021 is the first official UCI WorldTour race of the year, but with the Omloop het Nieuwsblad we really start!

Preview Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2021

The 76th edition of the Omloop het Nieuwsblad will be held on Saturday 27 February 2020. The Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2021 will again be the unofficial opening classic of the (Flemish) cycling year. Where the Tour Down Under 2021 has been definitively cancelled due to the coronavirus, it remains to be seen whether we will still travel to warm places like the United Arab Emirates and Argentina. But one thing is for sure, the Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2021 will take place (although most likely without big fanfare and without fans on site). It’s a race!

Course Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2021

With the start in the Kuipke in Ghent, ironically the Kuipke served as arrival point in the early years of the Omloop, about 200 kilometers of racing and the finish at the Onderwijslaan in Ninove we don’t see any crazy changes to the course of the Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2021. The duo De Muur van Geraardsbergen and Bosberg will also form the finale of the Omloop 2021.

Overview of the cobbled sections of the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2021:

Overview hills Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2021
The Ast
Mill Mountain
Mount Leberg
Wall of Geraardsbergen

Start: around 11:45
Finish: around 16:30

Contenders and Favourites Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2021

Sure, the official first is the UAE Tour 2021. And sure, it remains exciting around the coronavirus. But for the sake of convenience, we’ll just assume that everything goes on! Without an audience, unfortunately. But oh, how we are looking forward to it. Not only the Omloop, but one day later of course also Kuurne Brussels Kuurne! The opening weekend together. The soothing voices of Michel and José, finally back on TV. The cycling followers who have been following the race for a long time are still talking about it among themselves. And rightly so!

The most difficult-to-predict race there is, the Omloop.  But we’re going to give it a try anyway. Defending champion Stuyven. Sagan’s comeback. The debut of Van Avermaet at AG2R. The strong block of Lefevere. The Flandriens who are already trying to win a big fish here, such as Gilbert, Wellens, Benoot and what to think of Teuns. The enthusiasm of Kragh Andersen. The speculation. The previews. Oh, we can’t wait! A few days before the Omloop you’ll find here a preview with favorites for the Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2021

Omloop het Nieuwsblad last year

The Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2020 was won by Jasper Stuyven, who beat compatriot Yves Lampaert in a sprint-a-deux. For the Belgian of Trek-Segafredo, after his victory in Kuurne Brussels Kuurne 2016, it was his second win in a Flemish classic.

Results Omloop het Nieuwsblad 2020
1. Jasper Stuyven Trek – Segafredo 5:03:24
2. Yves Lampaert Deceuninck – Quick Step ,,
3. Søren Kragh Andersen Team Sunweb 0:06
4. Matteo Trentin CCC Team 0:39
5. Tim Declercq Deceuninck – Quick Step 1:28
6. Mike Teunissen Team Jumbo-Visma ,,
7. Oliver Naesen AG2R La Mondiale ,,
8. Philippe Gilbert Lotto Soudal ,,
9. Stefan Küng Groupama – FDJ ,,
10. Florian Sénéchal Deceuninck – Quick Step ,,

Last ten winners of Omloop het Nieuwsblad
2010: Juan Antonio Flecha
2011: Sebastian Langeveld
2012: Sep Vanmarcke
2013: Luca Paolini
2014: Ian Stannard
2015: Ian Stannard
2016: Greg Van Avermaet
2017: Greg Van Avermaet
2018: Michael Valgren
2019: Zdeněk Štybar
2020: Jasper Stuyven

Omloop het Nieuwsblad on TV

Saturday, February 27 you can switch on your TV from 13:30 to Sporza on one, where Michel Wuyts and José de Cauwer will report on the first spring classic of the year. Eurosport will also report on the race, although they will switch on a bit later, at around 15:00.

History Omloop het Nieuwsblad

The history of the Omloop het Nieuwsblad is rich. Or rather, the history of the Omloop het Volk is rich. Het Volk. For years the Omloop went through life as the Omloop het Volk. And the cycling fan who experienced this will continue to call it that. And rightly so!

The first edition of the race was organized in 1945 under the name Omloop van Vlaanderen. The race was organized by the Flemish newspaper Het Volk as a counterpart to the Tour of Flanders which was organized by competitor Het Nieuwsblad. So why the name change from Het Volk to Het Nieuwsblad? Due to a takeover of one newspaper by another newspaper/publisher in 2008, the race also underwent a name change from that point on.